as seen

By jankerman

Farewell

This afternoon I and some 480 other went to say farewell to a great character. The age range of the congregation also showed the variety of people whose lives he touched.
A difficult week as it also included the anniversary of my mother's death.  This epitaph written for A G Street  by his daughter Pamela struck a cord with me.
It's hard to have to lie in bed
Dreaming
With all the summers work ahead
Screaming

I've watched the barley on the hill
Growing
I'm getting on but I am still
Knowing

And I do know for me
There's one more harvest,see?
My work is done ; it's right I be 
Going

So when I go don't let em bide
Weeping
With all the of the countryside
Reaping
Just mind that barley field, don't grieve
And get it combined when I leave 
And let me be go right on
Sleeping. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.