photosbyjon

By photosbyjon

Day 65 of 366 - The Font in the Crypt!

Today's photo was taken this afternoon in the Village of Berkswell. The image is a view the Crypt beneath the parish Church of St John the Baptist. Standing in the newer part of the Crypt (the Octagonal part that is dated to the late 12th century), looking past the Font made from Caen stone towards the earlier Eastern part of the Crypt, that was built in the mid 12th Century. The current Norman Church above was rebuilt over an earlier Saxon Wooden Church. The stone foundations are still visible in the crypt. The Saxon Church was probably built around the mid 8th century.

The photo was taken using the App ExposerGL on my iPhone 6.

First I used the app Snapseed to edit the image. I cropped and straightened the photo. I then applied the Tonal Contrast filter and boosted the Ambiance, Warmth and Saturation. I also added a dark vignette. Next I used the app Mextures to apply a custom set of overlays that included: Kansas, Twilight, Vignette and Okefenokee. The next app used was Painteresque to give the image a slight painterly feel with a custom edit of the Painteresque 2 preset. Finally I used the app PhotoToaster to add the Warm filter, a medium dark vignette. Then the Canvas texture and the Charcoal frame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.