Dover Castle

I see it pretty much every day, from a distance or close with its Herdwick sheep but I've rarely taken shots of it.

Today there was a scattering of snow as we made our way to Folkestone. I stopped on the way back in a couple of places. This shot is looking from the ENE on Upper Road. I scrambled over a fence and into the ripping, freezing updraft coming off this little bit of sheep-walked downs in order to get the snow into the shot.

I like the different lines of the hill and that tilted plank that echoes them.

It costs £20 entry to the castle, which I have always baulked at. But I now plan to do a long day there with the camera later in the year although it is always very popular with coach parties of kids from France and Belgium.

The extra is from the coach park. And has been processed half to death.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.