An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Stars We Are (Old Sarum Hillfort)

Try LARGE

VERY frosty freezing cold up at Old Sarum Hillfort, at midnight - wanted to get some moon-less star shots before my favourite trees get leaves and so spoil their sublime outlines.

The new Sigma 30mm f1.4 Art lens was my testing target, all taken at 30 seconds - iso of 500 was my highest used (this is 400) and apertures used between f1.8 and f2.8 (this is f2.5). 

In contrast, I also used my Samyang fisheye lens which is of good sharpness from f4.5 and smaller - but I had to use iso 2500-3200 for those shots!

The yellow glow is from 7 mile distant Amesbury's streetlamps and the white-blue lights are car headlights on the A30 London Road into Salisbury. 

Always good to be up at Old Sarum - on my own and not even any military night-time flying "activity" going on, though one of my shots caught a tiny shooting star - and before you ask, far too south for any Northern Lights shenanigans that have been reported in the north of England and Scotland.   

Big thanks to ALL for every Star and Favourite on recent Blips - ever so grateful to you all. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.