elizm

By elizm

Reflection

Always when there is a special anniversary or event people tend to reflect on the past. Having celebrated the ruby wedding recently this has been an important time of reflection for me.
Today, in Glasgow I couldn't resist taking this photo in St Enoch's square. This building, and sadly I don't know it's history, has withstood the many changes around the square. When I first arrived in the city as country bumpkin it was where the airport dropped me to begin my long association with Scotland.Then it was a bustling bus terminal. The railway station was closed by then but this building at that time was the entrance to "the subway". In other cities it would be known as the underground.
Over the years as a student I used many bus services in and out of the terminal and on one occasion I thought I recognised a dear friend on the airport bus but he was so far from home I thought that impossible. Of course I found out later it had been.
Now it is a pedestrian way and surrounded by coffee shops. This wee building is seeing all the changes and must also have a few stories to tell, itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.