A curious day, which included a presentation to myself and the similarly retiring Tweedy followed by a lunch with colleagues. Somehow they'd managed to get hold of a couple of bottles of single cask whiskies from the Vaults which they presented to me. I can't imagine how they obtained them (or why they might think I like single cask whisky). ;-)

It was all very jolly, but somewhat strange. Tweedy and I escaped afterwards to the Dean Gardens, which I'd been promising to show her round for at least a year.

There was a photo of us both in the restaurant, the same one where we said farewell to Old Bat some years ago, but it was so unflattering (of us both!) that I decided to go with this shot of Kirkbrae house, which looks quite unassuming from the road but looks like Gormenghast from across the river. If you look carefully you can see a wooden door at the bottom, about six stories down from the top! There's some more about it here .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.