2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

right here in my reach

Well, I mentioned that the training was ongoing yesterday ...

... and the official race-number actually arrived in the post this morning, for the Great Edinburgh Run coming on Sunday 17th April, so definitely no going back now!

And, just because I liked yesterdays so much! ... here's another Alice Oswald's verse:


Time Poem

now the sound of the trees is
          worldwide

                          and I'm still here
staring when I should be bathing
          children.

it's late, the bike's asleep on its feet.

the fields hang to the sun by
          slackened lines...
when the grass breathes, things fall.
          I saw
the luminous underneath of a moth.
          and a blackbird
mouth to the glow of the hour in
         hieroglyphics.

who left the light on the step?
pause

what is the pace of a glance?

the man at the wheel signs his speed
          on the ringroad

right here in my reach, time is as
         thick as stone
and as thin as a flying strand

it's night and somebody's
pushing his mower home
                          to the moon

 ---

Alice Oswald (1966 - )

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.