Balcony

Bristol was looking beautiful in bright sunshine as I left the Crescent, with K  giving me a lift to Temple Meads. I had thought no further than choosing an off-peak train to Birmingham where I would pick up a W coast train north - but the 10.30 train from Bristol to Birmingham was unfortunately also the 10.30 train from Bristol to Cheltenham - and it became obvious from looking at my fellow travellers that it must be Ladies Day at Cheltenham races. I managed to get on to the train (lots were left on the platform), but spent the forty minutes to Cheltenham wedged in a small vestibule with about a dozen others. It was unpleasant in the extreme. The rest of the journey home was pleasant by comparison.

I had made so many changes between trains/taxis/accommodation and managed not to leave a bag or a banjo behind anywhere that evidently I relaxed about five minutes too soon, and stepped off the no 22 bus on the Shore leaving my banjo on the luggage rack. Doh! I tried pursuing it to no avail, but at least was able to ascertain that the driver had found it and would take it back to the garage.

It was very good to see Mr H again, and to eat the delicious egg curry he had prepared. I found that I needed to go to bed quite early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.