Life's seasons

It seems to me that the trick to aging is to live each season of your life with grace. To weather and adapt to the seasons of life with joy and dignity.

My grandmother, Ruth Lewis, better known as Nana to me and to her numerous grandchildren and great-grandchildren embodies grace. I came to the Eastern Shore to see her and my father's side of the family this weekend. I especially like to spend time with my Nana on these visits though.

She amazes and inspires. She is prolific matriarch, a businesswoman, a strong pillar of faith and spirituality, an educated woman (one of the 1st woman PhD's ever at U of Virginia), a world traveler, a life traveler. A daughter, sister, wife, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and teacher. She is many things, but most of all she is a wise and good person. She is 92 years old this year and though her body is failing, her mind and spirit still shine bright.

She showed me old photos from her life and told me of stories and distant memories from almost 100 years of American history well lived. This is an photo of her when she was closer to my age as a college student back in the 30's. This is her today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.