CharlieBrown

By CharlieBrown

Good Grief 140

... part 2

"... right, best of 3 ..."
"... ok, you're on ..."
I picked up a good palm sized flat stone and gave it the best low flick of the wrist I could muster and watched it as it hit the water and then made a long, long, timeless flight across time, before hitting the water again and disappearing into the peaty depths.
"Did you see that? How about that ...?" I exclaimed triumphantly ...
"What do you mean?" you said ... " it was only two skims"
"But the length of it ... surely ... that makes it a winner ... you never said anything about the number of skims ...", I replied indignantly, as I sensed a shifting of the goal posts here.
"Right", I said, with a certain, I-mean-business air ..."Right then ..."
I searched and found another good, medium weight, nice and smooth round to ovalish shaped stone, a lovely pinkish hue, a time-worn, water-worn volcanic bomb. I kissed it and quietly whispered, "Remember the forces that bought you here from deep below this earth crust".
I flicked it free and it skimmed, and skimmed, and skimmed ....
"One ...two ... three ... four, five, six, seven ... TEN ... it was TEN ... it was ... AT LEAST ...", I shouted excitedly.
"Yeah, right", and you threw your head back and laughed, and looked at me as if you had always loved me ... for as long as time, from as long ago as that round to ovalish, pinkish, softly eon-long-weathered stone had risen from deep within the earth to land here at this place, to join us at this point, now, at this time.
I watched the stone return to the darkness and our voices echoed away with the ripples and faded to a profound, earth deep, eternal silence.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.