Reikes small life...

By Reike

This one has been holding up being buried in the 30cm snow we had just a short while ago and I wonder how it managed to still look so beautiful!

We went to see a talk by Ueli Steck about summiting all 82 peaks in the alps over 4000m within two months, 18 of those on one single day. You might know him as being the "Swiss Machine", speed-climbing the Eiger North Face in under 2 hours 23 min. He is not an ordinary person, so focused! It was great that in the break I could sneak up and ask a question. (My courage wasn't high enough to take a picture though.)
I had asked what it is like for him, arriving on top of Anapurna in the middle of the night, in the dark, and to directly leave again, does he not regret to miss out on the view you must be able to have up there? And he said, a tour like that is not about enjoyment, it is such strain and struggle, you are already focused on getting down again and not to die on the way, and if every minute of leaving earlier means that you avoid some of the risk, there is no moment of hesitation.

I for myself am glad that all I aim for in the mountains is to see the views and enjoy the day (and recently, to have my dog staying with me and not going off for a hunt...). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.