La vida de Annie

By Annie

En el periódico de hoy

Not my picture of yesterday, but a very similar view in today's paper. It was encouraging to see the act described as Xenophobic, after what happened today. I am a member of several local photo groups on Facebook, and posted a couple of different pictures of the vandalism in them, expecting people to just be shocked and say "how terrible" or words to that effect in Catalan and Spanish. Many did just that, but upsettingly many agreed with the cry to Europe to wake up and kill the muslims. Some seemed to think that posting the picture meant I agreed with it and was deliberately drumming up support for the sentiments. A huge furore ensued on social media with commenters arguing between themselves, and a lot of abuse aimed here there and everywhere. I was accused of not being Menorquin (er, durr) so presumably have no opinion, and was also told the site is no place to post such things. I did not respond to any of this, just getting increasingly upset. Why should I have to justify taking what I thought was an interesting and ironic picture - the cuteness of the pretty building with its message of love, violated by this ugliness? One distraught lady promised to clean it herself if it was still there when she comes over in August. Another asked that someone please clean it now. I photoshopped the original to remove the graffiti, and reposted that for her - she thanked me! I did feel better for doing that. What a shame all hateful words on buildings can't be photoshopped out in real life. I added that image as an extra, although technically it was taken yesterday, only the additions removed today. I'm glad to see that picture in the paper today, as after cleaning up the image I was beginning to get paranoid about people thinking I made up the original defaced one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.