Victoria and Albert Museum

I've travelled to London today ahead of the Software Carpentry workshop i will be attending at Imperial College tomorrow. I decided to arrive early before museums close and headed straight to VAM after dropping of my stuff at the hostel. The exhibit that awed me most was this plaster cast of Michaeangelo's David. For a moment there, I thought that it was the actual David, but i know from my Humanities class back in UP that it is in Italy. So of course i had to read the info sheet. And I was right, it wasnt the original sculpture since it was only a plaster cast of the original. It was beautiful nonetheless as it was the exact same size of the original (of course it being a plaster cast). An extra photo of the backside of David in Extra Photos.

Before visiting the Victoria and Albert Museum, i got to pass by Royal Albert Hall and the Prince Albert Memorial along Kensington Road (see Extra Photos). At first look (and if you have been to Bangkok or Thailand), the Prince Albert Memorial looks like a Buddhist shrine with all the gold embellishment on it and the golden seated Prince Albert as well. I didnt get the chance to go inside the Royal Albert Hall. I was hesitant to go inside since I thought I was dressed too ruggedly to get inside such a classy place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.