World Poetry Day

Here's a thing about creativity, whether it's painting, writing, gardening, or anything else: you shouldn't be put off by a lack of technical skill. 

I know this but I still let it hold me back. I know people who are technically better than me in every area in which I have some creative aspiration. (I know people who I think are creatively better than me, too, but that's a separate issue.)

Today I was in school and I saw this poem up on the wall. I think it was written by a pupil who would have been eleven or twelve. There's nothing clever about the words or the structure, but amongst the many poems that I read today, this one moved me the most. 

It's beautifully simple and perfectly captures a feeling we've all had, an apology we've all given. This was a timely reminder that if you want to do something creative, you don't need to be brilliant to create something that is. Note to self.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.