St Andrew's church Grafham, Surrey

I was up early today to pay another visit to the Watt's cemetery to see how the scillia were developing...sadly they seem to have peaked and there were less to see this week than last, but it wasn't a wasted visit as I was able to pop up the road to the Watt's gallery and purchase the excellent book on the symbolism in the Watt's chapel I saw last week.
On the way home I stopped at this beautiful church I noticed last week in Grafham (near Bramley), stopping was a little difficult as there was absolutely nowhere sensible to park, so in the end I pulled up on the pavement outside the gate. I am really glad I did as behind the large lytch gate and the trees lay this stunningly beautiful church. 
Like Worth church the eastern end is semicircular in shape (known as an apse) which I think makes the church a really attractive shape. It also has an interesting bell tower, and feels a fitting Blip for Good Friday.
When I got home there was a Bee fly buzzing around the garden.....so (for me at least) today is the official first day of spring!
Sadly it appears we will be plunged back into Winter tomorrow! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.