Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

What Katie did

I know, a bit of a local paper shot, but I did want to record this, the biggest of the 3 trees I saw downed thanks to Storm Katie.

This was taken in The Weirs in Winchester, a riverside walk just down from the City Mill and the Bishop on the Bridge pub.  It was a huge old (probably hawthorn) tree, but I'm suspecting its heart was already to some extent rotten.  Also on my walk into town I saw 2 willows, one split in half, the other completely down and in the High St a sizable piece of lead roofing had blown off and crashed into the plate glass window opposite. 

Needless to say, nearer to home my two weak fence panels also bit the dust.  However, gimlet eyed as I know you are, you will have noticed I said 'walked into town'.  Which I did, for the first time since my op, so I'm dead chuffed.

Hope your version of Storm Katie (if you had one) did no worse damage.  And wishing you a good week  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.