The closing curtains

This old house will disappear soon according to the owners. I have driven past it a thousand times over my life time and never taken a photo. Today was the day. It is part of a market garden where the crops are continually changing. I drove in and parked and walked around it.
My later sister's husband lived here in his childhood and he had said it was a wooden villa but that wasn't obvious until I got to the side as most of it has been covered in corrugated iron now gone rusty.
I liked the shed at the side where it looked as if the curtains were closing.
Extras show the usual view. It must be the most photographed and painted house in NZ.
Harford was the family name attached to the house. Early settlers to Appleby on the Waimea Plains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.