Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Come!

A bit of a flurry in the housework department this morning because we had a lunch visitor. So the herbs that JR got yesterday are now in their new home on the back windowsill where they'll get afternoon sun. The path was washed again - after yesterday's wind it was as if someone had dumped a wheelbarrow load of assorted leaves, twigs, mud and litter.

And then our visitor cancelled - she was not well, poor girl. Plan B. JR decided to go to her favourite shop - 'Just for a look, I haven't been all holidays' - and I took Archie up the Hill to continue the 'Come!!' training. The meaty treat worked, well, a treat. He even left two dogs and came charging back up the steep hill to me when I called, and I have video proof.

Steep hill? Yes, for some reason I decided to climb the other big hill. And if I thought it was tough going up, then - with these knees - it was absolute murder coming back down! I thought maybe I'd be better coming down backwards, but then thought better of it.

At one point, Archie stopped, wouldn't go any further, and held up a paw. When I examined it there was a wee bit of thorny stuff attached, but not sticking into him. I removed it and he skipped off. What a wimp!

Archie is now snoozing in his default position - with his head on my lap, and I'm listening to Any Questions? and Any Answers? on Radio 4. I might read a bit more of my book, which I'm struggling with, but more probably I'll join Archie in the Land of Nod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.