Have You Got Enough Change?, Eccles

It was a beautiful morning today so decided to go for a long(ish) run with my brother. There is something about a sunny early Spring morning that lifts your spirits and running into the countryside made me fully appreciate it. It's like a new awakening from winter's grip.
After doing the usual weekly shop we decided to go for a walk to the next village along from ours to  a lovely little pub and sit outside in the sunshine with a cold pint. It was so relaxing and a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon. 
On the way back I spotted this delapidated phonebox and it brought back some childhood memories. When, as a family, we first came down from Scotland we did not have a phone in the house and continued not to do so for a number of years. So the only alternative was to use the phonebox a couple of streets away and always before we left to use it we had to make sure we had enough change! Now, thinking of kids with their smartphones it feels as if that was a hundred years ago, another lifetime, almost another universe. Yet I really don't know if I'd want to be a child growing up with all this technology - especially with Facebook, Snapchat and the like. It sometimes leads to the online bullying that seems so prevalent and that they can't feel they can escape from. As a teenager I remember having quite a thin skin, where it almost felt transluscent  - as if all my emotions were on the surface and clearly visible to everyone but at least I didn't feel trapped by technolgy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.