Bronze Medal

This is a 2/3rds size if memory serves correctly bronze medal from the 1990 Commonwealth Games. I have it as I was part of the performance for the Opening Ceremony.

We had to practice all through the summer holidays, I was part of the sea, waving my blue sheet. I think that it must have been a very good thing for my mum having me out of her hair that summer, as she'd have been coming to terms with my grandfather's death, which hit us all hard.

I ended up at the practices with my friend, her mum and mine are good friends, so we grew up together. Her step dad had taken his life around the same time as my granddad died, so it would have kept her out of her mum's hair too. My granddad's funeral, and her step dad's funeral were on the same day, one after the other, so none of us were able to support the others on that day.

My great grandmother also died around this time, I can remember being dropped to a practice on the day that happened. Being part of the Commonwealth Games was a very positive thing in a very dark patch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.