Verdant

My Dear Fellow,

In my very first job in Edinburgh, I remember my project manager Mike (probably the best PM I ever had - he was actually competent) arranged for a small champagne celebration following a successful implementation.  It was held on the top floor balcony of the Scottish Widows office (on St. Andrew Square, where Sainsbury's is now).

I was pretty friendly with Sharon, the business person and she was very proud and very Scottish.  She pointed out over at the Scott Monument and told me that her family had been involved in its construction.  She also told me that she hated it, and thought it was a blot on the Edinburgh landscape.  She loved the green, she said, and expressed the thought that Scotland was a beautiful and verdant land.

I couldn't help myself.  It was out of my mouth before I had time to filter.  "Verdant?" I said.  "Is that a euphemism for damp?"

It was probably the champagne talking.  I thought it was funny, but I swear she had a look in her eye like she wanted to throw me off that balcony.   

It is not a mistake I shall make ever again.  Anyway, the rain continues here, and so here is a picture of Edinburgh looking particularly verdant.

El Parsones

p.s.  Just kidding.  I now know what she meant.  I get there eventually.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.