Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Twee

Today I went running with Thuy (pronounced "Twee") the team's temporary tester from Turin. Well, from Ho Chi Min City.
She's helping us out for a month.
A few days ago she asked if I exercised every day and I said yes. Did I run? Yes. Would I show her the running? Yes.
Thuy has quite a strong accent and speaks softly. I wasn't quite sure whether I was showing her how to run or showing an experienced runner where to run. It turned out to be the former. But it was quite interesting. We mostly walked and talked. Quite often at cross purposes.
Her husband has high blood pressure. She is commuting from London while she works in the UK (she's a temporarily onshore part of our "off-shored" development).
HCMC is hot. Everyone drives scooters. England is very nice.
I was able to come across as a wildlife expert by pointing out the local exotica like, err, crows and ducks.
And she said (very quietly) that English people didn't speak loudly enough.
And that squirrels weren't tame in Vietnam because they would get caught and eaten.
It was all slightly surreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.