SueScape

By SueScape

La Cinquieme Saison

Ahead of our planned house move in September, much clearing out of papers and accumulated 'stuff'. Did a lot last year but now it's time to get rid of 30+ years of course notes, both courses I attended as a student and courses I taught. Bitter sweet memories as I uncover letters and photographs as well as professional papers. So much affection locked in the pages. Can it have really been me?

This picture comes from a postcard sent to me by my roomie on a course in France in 1991. I'd never heard of the artist before, but this image remains etched in my mind. Won't try to interpret it for you, it's one of those pictures that each of us should make our own.


Jean-Michel Folon, 1934-2005, was an artist, illustrator, painter, and sculptor, born in Brussels and later settled in Monaco. He had exhibitions all over the world inc. America, Japan, Argentina and Italy.He was a humanist.
Watercolour painted in 1982.


For those dear friends and colleagues who have since passed on: a bientot, mes chers amis ~

But with the passing of these seasons
Life is still not done, not through,
For there is yet another season
When each spirit is renewed.

And it is this calm fifth season
In this hopeful second spring
A time of cleansing and rebirth,
A time of new awakening.

Author Unknown.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.