Flower Sunday!

It's beginning to sound monotonous, I know, but our tulips really make my day!  Nothing I can do about that.  Hubby really did a good job!

I could have returned to the N59 and tried that field I spotted yesterday, but, somehow, I wasn't in the mood.  I had barely backed out of our driveway when I decided to head north.  It was a beautiful day, sunny and warm, and I knew I wanted to take advantage of it.  Any day next week would have been fine, too, but then there would have been the usual traffic near the big cities and that would have tired me out.  So off to Lisse!  And guess what ... empty field after empty field.  There were some areas with rich purple hyacinths, but they were not that accessible and there were other fields with other colours but, well, it wasn't exactly what I had hoped to see.  Thinking about it on my way back home, I was doubly glad I went today.  Can't think I'd have been happy sitting out traffic jams on a weekday and no tulips at the end.  I am now wondering about the bulbs that didn't pop out in our flower pots and the empty fields -- bad bulbs this year?  Or too expensive?  Tulip farmers usually begin with at least 50,000 bulbs in a vast number of acres.  Something is going on, I think, and I hope it'll be fixed by spring next year.

Household and the MOOCs the rest of the day.  The drive to the north did me a lot of good, though.  Gave me an excuse to leave the house for a couple of hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.