Hole in the Ground so Big and Sort of Round

This hole which I first blipped a week ago has got even bigger and is now beginning to look like the Grand Canyon of Quartermile. There can be no doubt that the foundations of the next new build on site will be extremely solid.
Every time I see this excavation I can't help humming Bernard Cribbin's rendition of the Hole in the ground, 'so big and sort of round'.

Looking at the skill of the operators of the earth moving machines makes me wonder how successful they are with the remote control pincers at grabbing soft toys from tanks at fairgrounds.

We braved the single figure temperatures and grey skies to tramp into town for shopping but were home by 11am to restore our circulation. 
Tonight I have my book group and a discussion of -' How to be Both' by Ali Smith. 
For me it is the most confusingly written book I've ever had the misfortune to read, but it's always interesting to hear other people's views. Very often the discussion can persuade me to change my opinion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.