Subbing Again

I subbed again for an old friend's English classes at McMinnville High School. These were literature and composition classes, and they studied a dark and disturbing short story from William Carlos Williams, "The Use of Force." While I am familiar with much of Williams' work, this was my first time teaching this one...and it's my hope it will be my last. 

While each class had many excellent kids, all smiling and pleasant, it's tough, as a stranger, to discuss things with them at any depth. So we relied on the questions left behind by their regular teacher, and I tried to stay out of their way. The girl on the left is the sister of two brothers I had in class a few years back. I run into siblings of former students all the time, and they always have kind words to say. Subbing is ok...just different from being there on an every day basis. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.