IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Bluebells

We have had a lot of rain in the last twenty four hours. Once or twice during the night I drifted into waking consciousness and could hear the rain falling steadily and heavily, tapping on the roof tiles above and splattering on the window panes. 
One or two of the broad beans that I soaked (a second sowing, the first lot are in the ground)  are starting to germinate and I went out to start them in little pots. The potting shed was flooded. 
Making tea when the postman's heavy knock - fair enough, he was wearing light clothes and it was raining still - announced the arrival of a parcel...a so called plant theatre or florist's steps that I ordered a few days ago. 
Later in the afternoon, the rain stopped and the sky largely cleared but for a bank of cumulus towards the horizon, a bright low sun lighting the garden and fields beyond it dramatically. We thought to seize the opportunity to get out on the bicycles for a trip around the villages. 
There were a lot of large puddles on the roads and little ponds collecting in dells and depressions in the fields here and there. In Gresham we took a small lane over to Sustead Church and along the way the wild garlic was flourishing on the verges. I want to find a good recipe to cook with it, somewhere I saw a recipe for using it like vine leaves to make dolmades but I don't recall which book it was in.
Just before the church I noticed the first flowering bluebells that I have come across this spring, on a south facing bank near the church. We came home via Hanworth and the pond where a pair of Canada geese are raising a small family of goslings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.