Over Yonder

By Stoffel

Stockbridge Sundays

My Dear Fellow,

I do like the new neighbourhood.  For a start, there are dogs EVERYWHERE. Despite the fact I have two pals of the catty variety, I'm inordinately fond of smiley dogs too. I see them puttering about the streets of Stockbridge, smiling at me in their winter coats, or dangling around outside shops waiting (mostly) patiently for their human companions to return with Pedigree Chum. 

I saw a naughty Labrador  in Sainsbury's yesterday. He sneaked inside and was sitting on the mat in front of the doors.  "Can't throw me out, I'm not in the store proper. I'm on the mat." He seemed to think it was a hoot.

This picture was taken on the Water of Leith walkway and perhaps that's the best part. I am here about 5 minutes away from the High Street and the coffee shops and home, but it felt like I was much, much further away. Quiet, with just the water trickling over rocks and the faint hum of traffic. And the occasional "woof".

So a good weekend. Sadly it has to end, but there are plenty more Stockbridge Sundays to come. I hope they are all up to the standard of this one.

El Parsones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.