Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Mono Monday - Environment

This is my work day environment.  I look out on the grain silos across the harbour and watch them in the changing weather.   I have mentioned before that this end of the harbour has become popular for fishing for hairtail.  They are apparently a migratory fish, long and shiny silver like a flash of steel, with a strange dorsal fin all down their backs.  This is the first year I have noticed the fishing though and I am sure I would have noticed it before.  On Friday nights it is 4 deep along here and absolutely packed.  These fisher folk have been coming now for 4 weeks.  They come with packed lunches or dinners, eskies, chairs, umbrellas and although there is a catch limit of 10, I have seen some people fishing for most of the day and into the night.  I wonder what has caused the hairtail to make this "their environment" for so long.  It is reported that the waters are warmer and tropical fish are now being caught well south of where they should be and fish are generally moving southwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.