Tapir

'If there's a fire go down the stairs, past the polar bear statue, and gather by the bearded pigs'.

Safety instructions when attending a workshop held at London Zoo.

After it finished there was time for a quick dart around to check out the pygmy hippos (love them) and Marilyn the free-ranging sloth in the tropical house. She craned her neck and stretched out her arm towards my colleague Mary and I. Luckily we were able to dodge her glacial pace.

I am absolutely pro zoo when the zoo does a good job. I doubt I would be working in the conservation sector if it wasn't for childhood trips to Chester Zoo. Think about how many of the capital's children London Zoo has enthused and how many of those people now carry around a pro-natural world mindset.

I am obsessed with tapirs since I did work experience at Chester Zoo and tickled Jenny the Brazilian tapir until she became....somewhat excited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.