An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Southwark Cathedral

Firstly, HUGE and MEGA thanks for ALL the responses to the Heavy Horses photo. It was a personal battle (more than a merely a challenge) to find a photo that was worthy of marrying up with those wonderful lyrics by Ian Anderson and Jethro Tull, pure poetry and an all time favourite of mine.

No one seemed to notice that I changed one line, to suit my purposes?! And those familiar with the song, will know that I only wrote out half of the entire song. 

I was so tired that day, that one shot a culmination of over 1,500 taken - many on six frames per second drive as these occasionally unpredictable but wonderful big beasties proved remarkably difficult to photograph well. 

And in my image, with its nice clean and clear background - well, in almost all the others I took, cars were exiting the show right across and of course, there were many other people - and things - and photographers too, of course.

Unfortunately, the journey back afterwards was a nightmare, public transport on a Sunday is never good, but when it's 50 minutes late, as well...

SO, I didn't thank anybody for their lovely comments and for their favourites - I wanted to keep the page clean and neat and tidy and to be honest, I needed some time off from social media and computers. So, I'm thanking you ALL now, cheers!

The show organisers really liked and thanked me for sending the image to them. They had a deal with a professional photographer to provide all their images of the day, in exchange for him having a stall at the show selling previous year's - so that was a closed shop, but it works for them and such groups prefer to keep such things simple and what works for them. Let's face it, photography to them is not as important as it is to us, my fellow photie folks!

Cloudy in the capital, so the relative peace and quiet of the often over-looked Southwark cathedral.   

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.