They're back

I've been worried about the butterflies. By this time, there are usually lots of them, but it's been so chilly that they aren't so able to fly.

I went for a walk in Pipe Hall Woodland Trust reserve, really to make the most of the wonderful blue sky and to check on the bluebells. (extra photo) but I couldn't believe how many butterflies were around.

It started with a Red Admiral - determined to buzz me and then fly off. Then there was a very tatty Small Tortoiseshell which was posing nicely. A stunning, and enormous yellow Brimstone flew tantalisingly past a few times but I had no chance.

Just near to the Conduit Head for Lichfield Cathedral's medieval water supply, there were lots of Peacock butterflies - and this one settled conveniently on a dandelion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.