Without Him Beside Me

I've managed to avoid walking here since Mr Harry died. I knew I'd have to face it eventually and I only went up there tonight as it was the type of sunny evening that would have had me and Mr H marching over the moors together. Well, me marching, Mr H faithfully plodding along behind. The only thing keeping him going was the thought of a scone and butter from the cafe by the car park. He'd walk for hours on those little legs.

I thought I'd enjoy it. I thought I'd feel his presence tonight, but to be honest I just felt his loss. The tiny dog left a massive void and for the first time on my favourite walk I felt very lonely.

I don't think I'll be there again until I have another little, hairy dog-type thing to share it with. Whenever that may be.

Ho-hum

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.