DawnAgain

By DawnAgain

Stranded

A good day at the museum working on an Iron Age man with a weird-looking chin and a female skull with a missing body.

I have a special parking place over the road secured by a lockable iron bollard which Andy, the curator, unlocks and locks upon my arrival and departure. So today, as usual, when I was leaving he unlocked the bollard and I bid him farewell...only to find my car key wasn't working. It's been playing up for a while actually. Fortunately there's an iron monger just up the road so we went there to see if a new battery would solve the problem. The iron monger was very helpful and let us use one of his screwdrivers to open the key and get the battery out but, unfortunately, they didn't stock them. However, he suggested we try the watch shop round the corner so we went there and, fortunately, they did stock the batteries in question so we bought one, fitted it, and returned to the car. Unfortunately, the key still wasn't working and the car still wouldn't start and this was the point at which Andy suggested that it might be a flat battery. I then realised that my lights had been on all day...and so I called the RAC while Andy went back to work.

To cut a long story short, TWO HOURS LATER the RAC finally turned up. Shortly afterwards Andy arrived back having been for a walk to kill time after he'd finished work (as he had to get the bollard key off me when I left). It turned out I needed a new battery, which the RAC guy supplied and fitted (for a fee) and then, finally, I was able to depart and Andy was able to go home.

Every cloud has a silver lining though, as they say, and while I was killing time I discovered a great new (to me) clothes shop...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.