mef13

By mef13

Inspired or hazard?

I am still not convinced that the concept of placing pavements and roadway on the same level  in this part of the Hampshire town of Romsey is a good idea.
Certainly, the ambitious scheme enhances the appearance of the street and does away with the awkward step created by conventional raised pavements  for pedestrians crossing the road.  But to my mind there is potentially an equal hazard when pavement and road in a relatively narrow street are at the same level and separated only by a shallow gully and a painted yellow line.
In a street, lined with shops on both sides and leading from the town centre to the town’s main Post Office, the local Council offices and the Abbey Church, the concept of allowing pedestrians more freedom of movement is admirable.  But it is a through roadway and one of the main routes in and out of town.
To my mind, mixing traffic and pedestrians in this way is fraught with hazards. I have witnessed shoppers stepping sideways into the road, apparently completely forgetting there may be cars there as well.

I have an open mind, but I have still to be convinced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.