Alternative Process

Today I did something new - I made my own photographic paper.

About 13 years ago I first did some dark room stuff with my Dad. It was one of the things that drew me into photography. I loved the measuring everything out, getting everything ready, working in the pitch black - but most of all the feeling of excitement and fear at whether it would actually work.

Today I made some cyanotypes.... an old technique dating back to 1842 when British scientist and astronomer Sir John Herschel discovered the process for recording "blue prints" of notes and diagrams using a mixture of potassium ferricyanide and ammonium iron. Instead of black and white it produces images with a lovely Prussian blue and cream appearance. Anna Atkins used the technique a year later to make photograms of her collection of seaweed! The results were the first ever book to be published with photographic illustrations - many of which are still displayed in the V&A museum in London.

For this one, I mixed the chemicals with water, painted them onto paper, let it dry, then did a contact print of a negative I printed from my computer. You expose it to daylight for about half an hour then develop it with running water! It's a really simple technique, but doesn't have the precision of modern silver-based enlargement. But I like that. It just added to the excitement and anticipation. It also produces quite characterful prints - really unique.

I think I might be trying this technique out quite a bit more - I really loved it - it really captured what I first loved about photography. I'll keep you up to date!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.