So, last night, all work was pretty much done, and Ed and I sat down to enjoy some music and quiet conversation. Long story short, I got up for a moment and managed to crash my foot into the door frame. Thinking it was just a stub, I settled in to chat with Ed (and brush the cat) when I noticed the small right toe was making a capital L shape. Ed immediately decided to dash out to start the car (I'm not sure why), but I called him back to help retrieve my purse and coat. "I need my camera" I informed him. But, he gave me such a look, I didn't press it.

I tried to catch Crystal and Micah before they got home from Mom's however, they had just left. Mom called them and opened with "Mom and Dad are heading to the hospital"...arggh...and LOL.

Thankfully, they were pulling into the driveway as we were leaving (trying to make sure Daniel stayed away from under the car), and Crystal was able to see it was not a big deal at all, just something needing some attention. The first thing she said was, "You should blip this". I knew she was right, but by now I was in a bit of shock, and did not insist someone find my camera. Ed wanted to get me to the doc ASAP.

Ed got me a nice wheelchair to enter the emergency and I found it is a good thing I do yoga, as I could hold my foot way away from doors and walls as people would push it. haha

It seemed to be foot night, because there were three of us in line for various types of foot injuries, though I am sure there were many more serious cases ahead of us. Ed found me a blanket and tray but mostly I would not let him out of my sight. Ed and I managed to see a doctor in just about three hours, and though I had been holding the foot well away from any contact, the doctor's wonderful confidence and friendly, competent manner relieved all fear.

I could either have four numbing shots and not feel him move the bone into place, or I could have it done quickly and be over it. I chose the latter. He was hilarious. Just as he was spraying my toe with something that makes it very cold, and I was about to ask "Are you going to just break it off?" he said to count to ten. I said "Ten" and then he moved it. LOL. Great way to catch one unawares and get it over with. Later a nurse came and asked why the cold? "No reason" he replied, "Just gives people something else to think about."

So the next X-ray looked a lot nicer than the first. I just have to stay off of it a bit. And look, I have a really neat new shoe!!! ;)

So, why the photo of a baby raccoon amid all of this? Well, to remember the day that my intuition told me not to let Ed take Patches out in the back yard, as I had not attended to the animal feed as per usual. But, I didn't say anything, and when they went out back, Patches charged at a raccoon. Usually the raccoon would run away, I am sure, but this one had a reason to fight.

As they were fighting, and Patches was about to get the bad end of it, Ed (who has numerous back injuries) jumped to the rescue, fell and crawled a few feet to the melee and slapped the raccoon in the face to get her to release the fight. She ran away, but as she did, a baby fell out of the avocado tree, and two more were noticed.

I hobbled out to see, but did not want to disturb them. Emotionally off after taking a pain pill at the hospital, I sobbed bitterly that the mother must be hurt and now the babies would be untended. But, true to Ed's word, the mother was not harmed and she did come back in the dark of evening to retrieve her brood. They all followed her out the back of the fence.

Ed is a bit sore, but not injured, thankfully. One of us at a time, please!!

Yesterday back blipped

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.