Yashica Man

My dad enrolled in the Hull School of Architecture after being demobbed following WW2. He graduated in 1949. J and I have decided to have some of his undergraduate drawings framed for hanging on the wall.

He was also keen on photography, and in the early 1960s, extremely attached to his Yashica rangefinder (not sure what model), and then moved on to a series of Pentax SLRs. He became less interested in middle age, but often said he’d have liked an L, but reckoned he couldn’t afford one.

Sadly, he died around the time digital photography was taking off in a seriously accessible way at the turn of this century. He’d have absolutely loved the whole business.

I reckon, nine times out of ten when I press the shutter, that I think of him...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.