Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

That was a long walk

Did a very long circular walk today starting from Rosthwaite to Watendlath  where the views were absolutely stunning.  At Watendlath we stopped for a coffee and lemon drizzle cake at the farm cafe.  There were some tame birds in the seating area looking for crumbs so of course had to leave them some.

Then we took the path to Dock Tarn which was quite rocky in places and again the views were stunning but it was starting to cloud over so no more blue sky.  Eventually there was a very steep path to go down with rocky steps which wasn't a good idea for my tired legs and had a few little slips.  The walk was meant to take three hours which I find hard to believe, so wont tell you how long it took me, much longer of course with stopping.  So was very relieved to make it to the bottom and get back to the car :)  Both Misty and I are feeling very tired tonight :)

So today is the anniversary of Shakespeare's death and there's been lots of publicity about it as its been 400 years since he died.  He was also born on the 23rd April!  Its also St George's Day today,  but much more important than Shakespeare and St George's Day to me is today is also my mum's birthday.  I have been thinking about her today, she would have been 89 and she was always so proud to have her special day on St George's Day and to share it with Shakespeare.  

A couple more in Extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.