1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Sofa and Savoury

This year's pair of lucky hound pups that get to spend their early months at the farm. It's difficult to teach them their names ( chosen by the hunt - I think they just open the dictionary and point! ) and simple obedience, when there are so many of them, so the hunt distributes them out to appointed foster homes for a few months.

Not sure if these two are going to be cut out for the job of leading the horses and riders over the scent trail - they trotted along behind me as I took them a walk around a field. I tried breaking into a jog, but when I looked to see if they were gamboling along behind me, I saw they'd stopped to stare at me! Lots of reassurance in a happy voice helped their confidence. It won't be long before they will need constant supervision when out of their shed, as a gates and hedges are no obstacles to a hound!

I've added Emma schooling the recently broken in Jack. He looks to be settling into the idea of 'working' for a living quite nicely. He has a good teacher.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.