Mono Monday . . . Diamond

Diamonds and Rust   a song by Joan Baez about her relationship with Bob Dylan.


Yes we both know what memories can bring
They bring diamonds and rust
Diamonds, diamonds and rust.


That haunting song came to mind when I read the theme was to be diamonds.  I don't have many examples of diamond jewellery so have gone for the geometric shape.  Google can lead you down all sorts of pathways when you ask it what the diamond symbol means.  I've explored runes, astrology and theosophy.  I did like the diamond shape being a Native American symbol of life.  The sides symbolize unity, freedom, eternity and balance.  The Greeks thought: As above - So below.
My image is the Prince's Gate Arches built of Totara in 1901 for the visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cornwall and York.  The whole thing looks like a crown.  
The extra is a look at the Rotorua Field of Remembrance for the soldiers who died as a result of the First World War.  Today is ANZAC Day when we pause and remember.  I had a lovely chat with a man I'd never met before.  Several people stopped and laid their poppies beside a particular cross.  I chose the only Jewish Star there.  
P.S I didn't post a blip yesterday because nothing caught my eye.  I was just having an off day.  I don't know why.     


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.