The essence of the mess

By SunkeneyedGirl

Not Barry Norman...

Harriet is home! Harriet being the car...
To celebrate mobility, I took The Child to the cinema. This is a 50-mile round trip. I drove. There were roundabouts, traffic lights, extremely busy BIG roads and a complicated car park. Coming home, it was dark.
Nobody died. Not even the dude that we almost skimmed on a deserted country lane, which is actually a proper road, after I took the seemingly wrong turning that isn't wrong, it's just exceedingly creepy, and The Child asked if we'd just gone past a zombie. Oh how we laughed.

We went to see this. There wasn't just Snow White and a huntsman; there were also dwarfs. I recognised Ian McShane and Bob Hoskins. I think Ian was Grumpy...Well, deprived of their total rugged antique-dealing sexgodism to play a beardy dwarf, who wouldn't be? Oh, Ray Winstone was also a dwarf, I see. I didn't recognise them easily as I didn't get to hear their proper voices (I live in the Land of Dub and not in a good way, people).
At one point Snow White went from seemingly helpless princess to girl able to calm the savage beasts and charm Ian, Bob, Ray & Co and then, after one scene blatantly ripped from one of my favourite Japanese films, to a new incarnation as Snow White of Arc, complete with lots of shiny armour, forged overnight to mould her curves beautifully. Fairytale smiths being the gifted craftsmen they are...
Yes, The Child lapped it up: all the displays of Girl Power and even the blood, guts and death.

The best bits? I had a rather large bag of M&Ms...Peanut ones.

Here be trailer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.