Chariots of Fire

Passing through a very cold but sunny George Square today, I remembered the day when I was present at the unveiling of this plaque.  The unveiling was done by my good friend and member in my last congregation, Dr Andrew Ross, Principal of New College, representing the vice-Chancellor.  

That last congregation I served was the family church of the Liddell family, and Eric had taught in the Bible Class.   By the time I arrived, the sole Liddell still in membership was a niece of Eric Liddell, but we had close contact with other members of the family at a distance.    I learned more and more over the years about Eric Liddell, and I think got to know the simple humanity of the man.   I don't think he would have welcomed the pedestal on which so many people placed him.    For example, much was made of his stance against running for his country on the Sabbath.   But in his Japanese internment camp, it was Eric who organised football leagues and competitions for the boys there - on that same Sabbath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.