On The Boat

I've used several different routes to get from the South to Aberdeen before getting the boat to Shetland - I've flown, I've driven and now I've used what is supposed to be the direct sleeper bus from London to Aberdeen.  

I don't anticipate using the bus again!  The first bus (a sleeper bus with bunks!) lasted about an hour into the 9 hour journey before expiring on the side of the M40. The replacement (an ordinary coach - no beds) got us to Glasgow.  Bus 3 took us from Glasgow to just outside Aberdeen when one of the tyres exploded.  Bus 4 got us to Aberdeen Bus Station about 4 hours later than advertised.

I was very relieved to get into my cabin on the MV Hrossey for the crossing to Shetland - although given my luck with buses I thought it was a good idea to check out the emergency facilities.

4144

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.