Human Factors

This late cold snap has brought winter, albeit an alpine kind of winter, back to the hills. Having been down in Bristol midweek I was simply itching to get out today.
Grabbing a rucksack, ice axe & crampons from my gear store I drove into Patterdale almost on autopilot, subconsciously Helvellyn's Striding Edge beckoned.
I'd figured that bank holiday weekend I'd see a lot of folks, but with snow clearly visible from around 400m, and cornices glistening along the tops I'd reckoned there'd only be a few on the ridge itself.
Walking up I quickly realised I was wrong - hordes of ill prepared people were clearly hoping to amble across the ridge under a brilliant blue sky.
Now I should say right here, this isn't a moaning or righteous post; I applaud a spirit of adventure. I've nothing but admiration for those who seek to push or challenge themselves, those who know you are most alive at the edge - but it's a process that has to start with self knowledge. I chatted to people on the way up, told them what to expect, offered alternatives that would still be a great day out. I know only too well that I can't stand by and not help, so minutes lost here could potentially save hours later. During the 5+ hours I was on Helvellyn i met 5 people with ice axes, 3 with crampons and 12 in trainers. On the summit plateau it was probably minus 5 with wind chill, i gave up counting the people in shorts after a while. My best guess would be that every third person had a rucksack.
Some took my advice, but most did not. Most cited many of the human factors that I've studied in mountain disasters;
Scarcity - "we've travelled a long way to do this, we just didn't expect snow....."
Expert Halo - "John's done it before and he's got an ice axe....."
Consistency - "we said this was what we'd do today..."

Whilst I was on the hill everyone I saw got across, or at least turned back safely, and thus it usually is. Some will of scared themselves, some will seek more challenge and most will never really comprehend the risks they took today.

In extras I've put a shot from halfway along the ridge, you can probably see the couple ahead of me, but look closely, for scale try and find the chap on the exit snow slopes. And no, he didn't have an axe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.