Stressful times

Backblip

After doing a little shopping after work at the supermarket nearest to the apartment, I thought I'd walk home past the Great Crested Grebes nest to see if I might be able to have a look at the eggs in their nest again. From a distance though I could already see that something was not right because both birds were in the water at some distance from the platform that their nest was on. Getting closer, I could see that people were leaving the area and that they had placed floating ropes on the water to mark the field of whatever water sport the goal is for that is standing on the same platform that the Grebes had chosen to build their nest on.

Both birds looked very distressed as they were swimming around the platform, trying to locate their nest. While I was there, I could only see some branches and I feared the worst, not knowing what had been done to it by the people I'd seen. When I got home, I took a better look on the laptop at all the photos that I'd taken just before the Grebe on the right eventually sat down and zooming in, I think I could see something on some of them that looked like the top curve of two eggs above the metal beam. From that, I hope I'm concluding correctly that the nest had been moved more to the centre of the platform with more care than I'd first assumed and I can only hope that all the eggs, not just the two I think I can see, have been moved with it.

I'm afraid I just cannot help worrying about these birds each time they start nesting on that platform. Last year, they had just left with their chicks when the sporting activities in the area started. This year, it looks like they aren't so lucky and all I can do is hope that all the disturbance of their nest hasn't had any adverse effects on the development of the eggs, if they are indeed still there.

Thank you so much for the comments, stars and heart on yesterday's blip of Rosie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.