Tarawera Times

By Megl

Feijoa

These have to be one of my most favourite fruits. The season is not that long and they don't keep very well so when they are available I have to admit to making rather a "pig" of myself! The flavour is quite exotic even a bit "perfumed". I like them raw, stewed and made into cakes and pickles. They are a sub-tropical fruit, and I think they were originally grown in South America.

The tree is very easy to grow and they make great hedges. This afternoon Scotty, the local lawn mowing guy arrived around with a bag of them for me....he knows I love them. I didn't ask where they came from, but will make the guys some scones next time they are mowing lawns around here.

And thanks so much for all your stars and hearts for yesterday's autumn avenue...much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.