Abstract from Time

I'm not a good lateral thinker so have a problem coming up with an abstract idea for Abstract Thursday. Still, I will try.
My Blip is taken from the surface of a clay urn which was given to me 30 years ago, by a young man (almost another son to us) who was travelling through the Greek islands.  He is an architect,  so has an eye for the ancient. So, this urn is in fact a copy of an ancient artefact from Thera, an antique city that once stood on the Greek island of Santorini. Thera was devastated by a volcanic eruption in the 16th century B.C.E. Many artefacts  have been pulled from the ruins and since copied by artisans on the islands for sale to tourists.
My piece has, handwritten on the base, "Copy from Thera 1500BC Greece made in 1979". It is made of a rich red clay and hand painted in rather chalky, but very bright colours.  My extra shows the urn with it's broken top, as my gift suffered from the long trip back to Australia. I have been unwilling to patch it up.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.