The Other side of Spring

A day working through my list of tasks.

I was uncertain whether to blip this. 

Looking at blipfoto at the moment, there are lots of attractive spring blips - flowers, foliage, young animals, sunshine. It's an uplifting time.

But there is another side, because not all young life makes it - in fact, much doesn't. Coming down this morning I noticed a movement on the front lawn, and saw it was a young chick struggling. It is a long way off fledging, and I presumed it was a young sparrow fallen from one of the sparrow's nests we've got to the side of our roof. I assumed it would be taken by one of the local magpies.

Early afternoon I took a trip to a local nursery to get some hanging baskets refilled (no time to do them myself). I checked, and the little chick was still there, and still six hours on, just about alive. It is not a young sparrow I'm sure - something about it says "great tit", but the nest box that is about 6 feet away isn't occupied by anything, and a little flightless chick couldn't even make that distance. 

So I have no idea how it got to where it is. Poor thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.