Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 339: - Curvy

My favourite curvy wall, high up above the highest point of the M62 - we had hoped it would be cool up there but it was sweltering. 

I received an email from my cousin in Denver, whose husband has a fascination with Cornwall so has been researching the Cornish side of our family tree. My maternal grandmother never spoke of her family so it has alway been a mystery. Now we know that she was born in a workhouse to a 15 year old girl who was in service at the time. This must have scandalous at the time, no wonder it was not mentioned. So today I have been researching the family, armed with a small amount of knowledge. I traced them back to a small hamlet called Perranzabuloe near Perranporth, somewhere I had never heard of. My maternal grandfather's family tree in Ireland has been well researched by my cousins so I decided to look at the paternal ancestors - also steeped in some mystery. We knew that my paternal grandmother's family were all from Exeter - which indeed they were. But her mother was in fact born in Perranzabuloe. They were born within a couple of years of each other - I wonder if they knew each other or were friends? Little did they know that their mutual great-granddaughter would one day be looking them up on the internet......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.